Upper Murray GMA

Upper Murray Groundwater Management Area

GMW established the Upper Murray Groundwater Management Area (GMA) in Victoria's north-east. The Upper Murray GMA extends from the Victorian Alps to the Murray River including the Mitta Mitta, Corryong and Indi catchments. Major rural centres within the boundary include Omeo, Tallangatta and Corryong.

Facts and stats

Area: 10,100 km2
PCV: 7,674 ML
Allocations: 100%

Groundwater management

The Upper Murray GMA Local Management Plan (the Plan) was developed by Goulburn-Murray Water in consultation with a Groundwater Reference Group made up of groundwater customers and representatives from key stakeholder agencies. The Plan was approved on 27 June 2014.

The Plan provides the local community, and in particular licensed groundwater users, with information about the groundwater system and rules describing how the resource is managed.


Annual summaries


For further information or to obtain technical material relied upon for management arrangements, please contact the Groundwater and Streams section at GMW on 1800 013 357.