The Minister for Environment, Climate Change and Water appoints the Directors of Goulburn-Murray Water under the Water Act 1989 (Vic). The Minister also appoints the Chairman from the Board members. The Board then appoints a Managing Director.

For corporate governance matters, please contact Chris Dalton, Corporate Secretary on 5826 3514 or email  


Diane James AM

Diane James AM is a business consultant, leadership coach and company director. Her career includes establishing two start-up companies and serving on numerous State and National boards. She is Chairman of Southern Rural Water and a former Director of Barwon Water.

Diane was a founding director of GenU, a national disability, ageing and lifestyle services organization and was Chairman of the Victorian Coastal Council for 12 years. In recognition of her contribution to the environment and natural resource management, Diane was awarded a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in 2011.

She is an accredited leadership coach, holds a Graduate Certificate in Innovation and Entrepreneurship and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Diane James



Margot Henty

Margot Henty has been an irrigation dairy farmer at Cohuna for 30 years and has strong understanding of water use and management in the Goulburn Murray region.

She is a director of the board of Water Partners Australia, a water trading business operating not-for-profit. Margot has contributed extensively to regional resource management plans over the last thirty years of changing times, including Torrumbarry Reconfiguration and Asset Modernisation Strategy and the Barr Creek Salinity Management Plan.

Ms Henty has a Bachelor of Arts and Graduate Diploma in Education (Geography). MAICD.

Margot Henty


Alana Johnson

Alana Johnson is a rural development specialist and principal of Lurg Cattle Co.

She is Deputy Chair of the Victorian Catchment Management Council and a former Director of the Rural Industries Research and Development Corporation. Alana is Chair of the Victorian Women's Trust, past President of Voices for Indi and founding member of Australian Women in Agriculture. 

Alana has served on a range of Ministerial advisory committees and statutory and not-for-profit Boards. She was named in the inaugural 100 Women of Influence in Australia by the Australian Financial Review in 2012 and the inaugural 100 Women in Australian Agribusiness by Rural Press in 2014, and was the Rural Women's Award Victorian winner and Australian runner in 2010. 

Alana is a graduate of the Australian Rural Leadership Program and the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She holds a Bachelor of Arts, a Bachelor of Social Work and was awarded an Australian Post Graduate scholarship for her PhD research on sustainable agriculture.    

Alana Johnson


Jonathan Koop 

Jonathan Koop was appointed a Goulburn-Murray Water Director in October 2017, having previously served as Director with North East Water.

Jonathan owns and manages a 700-hectare grazing and cropping property in North East Victoria (part-time 12 years, full-time since 2010). Previously Jonathan had a career in senior finance positions with Murdoch Books Pty Ltd (2008 - 2011) where he was also Company Secretary, Fairfax Media Ltd (2003 - 2007) and TNT Express (2001 - 2003).

Jonathan has a Bachelor of Economics and is a Chartered Accountant and Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Jonathan Koop


David McKenzie

David McKenzie is Managing Director of Opteon Property Group, with offices across northern Victoria, and also chairs North East Water, the Minister for Regional Development's statewide Regional Development Advisory Committee, and the Goulburn Regional Partnership.

He is a director of the Committee for Greater Shepparton and co-convenor of the GMID Water Leadership Forum.

David McKenzie


Patrick McNamara (Deputy Chair)

Pat McNamara was formerly a member of the Victorian Legislative Assembly representing Benalla.

He was Deputy Premier of Victoria from 1992 to 1999 and held several ministerial positions, including Minister for Agriculture and Resources, Minister for Tourism, Minister for Police and Emergency Services and Minister for Corrections.



Patrick McNamara


Margaret O'Rourke

Margaret O'Rourke is a former General Manager of Telstra. Ms O'Rourke’s leadership roles in Telstra involved working extensively in regional, rural and remote communities throughout Australia.

These roles also included infrastructure, sales and customer experience.

Ms O’Rourke is now a consultant to industry using her specialist skills in digital economy strategies, community facilitation, telecommunications infrastructure and leadership consultancy.

She is also a board member of Bendigo Healthcare, Bendigo Kangan TAFE and the Ulumbarra Foundation.

Ms O’Rourke is also a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Margaret O'Rourke


Charmaine Quick (Managing Director)

Charmaine Quick joins GMW with more than two decades of experience in the water industry and a strong history in leading change.

Prior to her appointment at GMW, Charmaine was the Executive General Manager, Service Delivery at Melbourne Water. She is known for her ability to influence and drive change at an organisation level, nationally and internationally for asset management, relationship contract management and customer service.

Charmaine's qualifications include Bachelor of Civil Engineering (Melbourne University), and Master Environmental Science (Monash University), and she is also a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Charmaine Quick


Dennis Quinn

Dennis Quinn has a background in engineering and marketing and sales management.

Dennis was the CEO at Engenco Ltd. Prior to that he was Managing Director and General Manager of Cummins South Pacific, and spent many years in senior positions in large, multi-national industrial businesses both in Australia and the USA.

He has a Master of Arts (Marketing) and Bachelor of Engineering.

Dennis Quinn


Ari Suss

Ari Suss is CEO of Fox Special Projects, part of the private family investment arm of the Linfox Group, joining the company in 2004. Ari is also a Board Member of Avalon Airport Australia.

Between 1999 and 2004, Ari was a senior adviser to former Premier Steve Bracks. During this time, he specialised in policy and advice in the areas of infrastructure development, transport, ports, major projects, multicultural affairs and parliamentary strategy.

In 2011, Ari also commenced in his role as General Manager of the Linfox-owned Australian Automotive Research Centre, an 1100-hectare vehicle test facility in Anglesea, Victoria.

In 2018, Ari was appointed a Director of Fed Square Pty Ltd.

Ari has a Master’s degree in Public Policy and Management from Monash University, is a graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and has completed leadership studies at Harvard Business School.

Ari Suss