Torrumbarry WSC

  Quick Links

Torrumbarry WSC members

Meeting summaries

The Torrumbarry Water Services Committee represents irrigation customers in the region,
including from Swan Hill, Kerang and Cohuna. The Torrumbarry Irrigation Area (TIA) extends
along the River Murray from Gunbower in the east to Nyah in the west and in the south to the Macorna Main channel (No 2).

In the western part of the Irrigation Area, from Lake Boga to Nyah, there are three individual pumped irrigation districts (Tresco, Woorinen and Nyah) which service a customer base predominantly in the horticultural industry.  

GMW’s Torrumbarry gravity customers primarily use water for permanent pasture and annual pasture, although there is a growing trend towards irrigated cropping as well as tomatoes and corn.

The Torrumbarry WSC is chaired by Guy Duncan and consists of nine members in total.

The future of irrigation direction and advocacy has been a topic of interest for the committee this year, as well as recent pressures on the dairy industry, the Connections Project mid-term review and options for carryover.

A number of winter works have been completed locally including regulator automation in Swan Hill, remediation works at Leitchville and desilting, to name a few. With works ongoing in Swan Hill, with construction of the No9 interconnecting pipeline and decommissioning of Little Murray Weir and Refurbishment of Fish Point Weir, along with Fish passage at both these sites, this work is all part of the Connections Swan Hill Modernisation project.

If you have any issues or concerns and would like to speak with your WSC, please click here for their contact details.

  Torrumbarry WSC map